Archive for April 15th, 2014

Isaiah 65:8-16

April 15, 2014

8 This is what the Lord says:

“As when juice is still found in a cluster of grapes

and people say, ‘Don’t destroy it,

there is still a blessing in it,’

so will I do in behalf of my servants;

I will not destroy them all.

9 I will bring forth descendants from Jacob,

and from Judah those who will possess my mountains;

my chosen people will inherit them,

and there will my servants live.

10 Sharon will become a pasture for flocks,

and the Valley of Achor a resting place for herds,

for my people who seek me.

 

11 “But as for you who forsake the Lord

and forget my holy mountain,

who spread a table for Fortune

and fill bowls of mixed wine for Destiny,

12 I will destine you for the sword,

and all of you will fall in the slaughter;

for I called but you did not answer,

I spoke but you did not listen.

You did evil in my sight

and chose what displeases me.”

 

13 Therefore this is what the Sovereign Lord says:

“My servants will eat,

but you will go hungry;

my servants will drink,

but you will go thirsty;

my servants will rejoice,

but you will be put to shame.

14 My servants will sing

out of the joy of their hearts,

but you will cry out

from anguish of heart

and wail in brokenness of spirit.

15 You will leave your name

for my chosen ones to use in their curses;

the Sovereign Lord will put you to death,

but to his servants he will give another name.

16 Whoever invokes a blessing in the land

will do so by the one true God;

whoever takes an oath in the land

will swear by the one true God.

For the past troubles will be forgotten

and hidden from my eyes.

Points of Interest:

Theology of the Day–A remnant

In yesterday’s passage, God had finally come around to the idea that it’s time to part ways with the people with whom God has most closely been associated until now. I don’t know whether it’s the descendants of the forgetful Israelites wandering in the desert, or the super-religious citizens of Jerusalem, or maybe highly religious people in general that God has in mind. What is clear is that it’s a group of people who is supremely confident that they have God in their pocket, and that confidence has reached a peak at the same time that God’s patience has reached a low point. God is moving on.

In today’s passage, though, God takes a half-step back, to clarify that this rejection of the formerly special people isn’t wholesale. God is building a new people, but God is not indiscriminately throwing 100% of God’s old people out. God is willing, and in fact more than willing, to build from whatever can be salvaged from God’s old people. God actually shows more than the usual care not to throw out the good with the bad; far from one bad apple spoiling the whole barrel in God’s eyes, God makes his way through a whole barrel of bad apples to find one or two good apples worth saving.

bad-apple2-1024x766

Image of the Day–Your name used only as  a curse

Ever wonder why no one names their child ‘Adolf’ anymore? Of course you don’t; you know exactly why. Hitler thoroughly ruined the name for any possible future Adolfs–and for any possible future Hitlers, for that matter. In fact, I just read on Wikipedia that in the Netherlands people already named Adolf changed their names to Dolf after WWII. Very few people want to be associated with Adolf Hitler.

God says that the same will be true of these people who have forsaken God. Their name will be such bad luck that no one wants to use it anymore–at least as a name. Since the word is available, people will use it as an expletive instead.

Wordplay of the Day–Destiny

God’s indulges in a moment of sarcastic humor again: Since you’re such a fan of Destiny, we’ll see how much you like the destiny coming your way.

Good News of the Day–God’s domain expands

Much of the most recent two passages has been focused on God’s painful breakup with God’s people. But it’s not all bad news. While only a remnant of God’s old people stick together with God, that doesn’t mean that God’s people shrinks only to that remnant. As a whole, God’s people are expanding. Over the course of our reading of Isaiah, we’ve talked a lot about the repopulating of one mountain, Zion. Now, we’re spilling over to other mountains, and to a plain and a valley or two as well.

I think the key is that God is done looking at people categorically. God no longer considers God’s old people categorically privileged, but they’re not categorically cursed either. And God doesn’t make some other people group into God’s new special people. Instead, whoever is interested in God and God’s way, wherever and whoever they are, those people become God’s people.

Taking it Home:

For your six: God’s fold seems inviting and expansive and safe.  I would like to be a part of it, and I would like my six to be a part of it as well.  I like that God is willing to take in anyone who is interested.    Ask God to draw your six to himself.  It sounds a little quirky, but try asking God to give your six a desire for God. I’m not entirely sure how it all works when someone starts to have interest in God (is it their own decision? is it God at work? I hear theologians like to debate this); but either way I see no harm in asking God to spark some interest.  Consider asking your six what their interest is (or has been) in connecting with God.